foriegn News Politics Travel Trump

‘We Won’t React To Speculations,’ Says Presidency On US Planned Visa Restriction Policy

American and Nigerian flags fly next to each other in the center of Abuja August 24, 2000. US President Bill Clinton is to arrive in Nigeria for a two-day official state visit this Saturday. PA/JRE - RP2DRICRVCAA



ABUJA (GVE) – Federal Government has responded to reports on planned move by the United States government to include Nigeria among new list of nations to be affected in the US visa restriction policy.

The new policy, if implemented will restrict visa issuance to Nigeria, Sudan, Tanzania and Eritrea from Africa while Kyrgyzstan and Belarus from Eastern Europe and Myanmar from Asia.

But in its reaction, Malam Garba Shehu, Senior Special Assistant to the President on Media and Publicity, acknowledged the widely published reports but said it won’t make any official statement until the policy takes effect.

“Yes, we have read the news that the Trump administration is planning to add a host of African, Asian and Eastern European countries to its travel restrictions list as reported by the US media,” Shehu stated.

“We are not going to react to speculations. We urge you to wait for us to see what unfolds under the new policy, its scope, its reach, the implications, and its consequences before we react.”

Though findings revealed that the visa restriction policy would not entirely stop visa issuance to Nigerians, only selected visas such as visitor’s and business visas will be limited.


Connect With US