Awards Breaking News Entertainment Foreign international News Sports

FIFA: The Race Of ‘The Best’ Begins As Nominees Unveiled

The wait is finally over, as the much anticipated shortlists of the FIFA football Awards 2019 has on Wednesday 31 July been revealed by FIFA on their official website.

The names of the nominees both men and women,which was shortlisted by two panels of experts spreads across the continents of the world.

Voting slots are now opened for the four awards which will be split between four key pillars of the incredible game: the players, the coaches, the fans and the media. The four groups of voters consist of the national team captains, national team coaches, selected media and the fan vote conducted on The votes are weighted evenly (25% each) when determining the final result.

The nominees for FIFA men’s player includes:

Cristiano Ronaldo (POR) – Juventus

Frenkie de Jong (NED) – Ajax / FC Barcelona

Matthijs de Ligt (NED) – Ajax / Juventus

Eden Hazard (BEL) – Chelsea / Real Madrid

Harry Kane (ENG) – Tottenham Hotspur

Sadio Mane (SEN) – Liverpool

Kylian Mbappe (FRA) – Paris Saint-Germain

Lionel Messi (ARG) – FC Barcelona

Mohamed Salah (EGY) – Liverpool

Virgil van Dijk (NED) – Liverpool

FIFA best women’s nominees include:

Lucy Bronze (ENG) – Olympique Lyonnais

Julie Ertz (USA) – Chicago Red Stars

Caroline Graham Hansen (NOR) – Wolfsburg / FC Barcelona

Ada Hegerberg (NOR) – Olympique Lyonnais

Amandine Henry (FRA) – Olympique Lyonnais

Sam Kerr (AUS) – Chicago Red Stars / Perth Glory

Rose Lavelle (USA) – Washington Spirit

Vivianne Miedema (NED) – Arsenal

Alex Morgan (USA) – Orlando Pride

Megan Rapinoe (USA) – Reign FC

Wendie Renard (FRA) – Olympique Lyonnais

Ellen White (ENG) – Birmingham City / Manchester City

READ ALSO: Nigeria’s Senate Seeks Return of Budget Cycle To Jan/Dec

The Best FIFA Men’s Coach nominees

Djamel Belmadi (ALG) – Algeria national team

Didier Deschamps (FRA) – France national team

Marcelo Gallardo (ARG) – River Plate

Ricardo Gareca (ARG) – Peru national team

Pep Guardiola (ESP) – Manchester City

Jurgen Klopp (GER) – Liverpool

Mauricio Pochettino (ARG) – Tottenham Hotspur

Fernando Santos (POR) – Portugal national team

Erik ten Hag (NED) – Ajax

Tite (BRA) – Brazil national team

READ ALSO: AMCON To Go After Babalakin, Ubah, Kashamu, 17 Others Owing N5trillion Debt

The Best FIFA Women’s Coach nominees

Milena Bertolini (ITA) – Italy national team

Jill Ellis (USA) – USA national team

Peter Gerhardsson (SWE) – Sweden national team

Futoshi Ikeda (JPN) – Japan U-20 national team

Antonia Is (ESP) – Spain U-17 national team

Joe Montemurro (AUS) – Arsenal

Phil Neville (ENG) – England national team

Reynald Pedros (FRA) – Olympique Lyonnais

Paul Riley (ENG) – North Carolina Courage

Sarina Wiegman (NED) – Netherlands national team

Voting is now open until midnight CET on 19 August 2019.




Connect With US