Senate Gets Eighth Female As Olujimi Takes Seat

Clerk of the Senate, Nelson Ayewoh, on Thursday administered the Oath of Office and Oath of Allegiance on Senator Biodun Olujimi to represent Ekiti South Senatorial District.

The senator’s swearing-in followed the directive of Senate President Ahmad Lawan.

The Court of Appeal in Akure, the Ondo State capital, on November 6, 2019, nullified the victory of Senator Adedayo Adeyeye of the All Progressives Congress (APC) and declared Olujimi, of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), winner of the February 23, 2019 election.

Dr Lawan congratulated and welcomed Senator Olujimi, who was a Minority Leader in the Eighth Senate, back to the Upper Chamber.

“I want to congratulate and welcome Senator Biodun Christine Olujimi, the former Minority Leader in the Eighth Senate back to the Senate.

“With her swearing-in this morning, we now have eight very solid female senators in the Ninth Senate.

“We pray that this addition will bring more productivity and stability in the Ninth Senate.

“We hope that it will also bring unity and more focus for us to do only those things that will bring development, peace and progress to Nigeria,” Lawan said.

With the return of Senator Olujimi, PDP now has 45 senators while the ruling APC has 63 and the Young Progressives Party (YPP) one.

Other female members of the Ninth Senate are: Senators Oluremi Tinubu (Lagos Central), Rose Oko (Cross River North), Betty Apiafi (Rivers West), Aishatu Dahiru Ahmed (Adamawa Central), Uche Ekwunife (Anambra Central), Akon Eyakenyi (Akwa Ibom South) and Stella Oduah (Anambra North).

Source: The Nation


Connect With US