News Politics

Sanwo-Olu Emerges Winner Of APC Lagos State Governorship Primary

After the vigorous APC Lagos State Governorship primary election on Tuesday, Mr Babajide Sanwo-Olu emerges the winner.

Mr Babajide Sanwo-Olu emerges the winner of the Tuesday Lagos Chapter APC Primary, after the National Working Committee led by Clement Ebri who actually said the primary would be rescheduled.

Ebri had said that the primary would be rescheduled as the state chapter has no power to conduct the party governorship primary election on its own.

However, after announcing the result to newsmen in Ikeja last night, which Sanwo-Olu polled 970,851 votes and Gov. Akinwunmi Ambode, who polled 72,901 votes, the Lagos State Chairman of the party, Alhaji Tunde Balogun, declares Sanwo-Olu as the winner of the primary at the state Party Secretariat ACME.

Mr Balogun had acknowledged the primary election as being free and fair in a statement while thanking party members for coming out to participate, he said,

“I am aware that conflicting information has been circulating on our primary election, but I must tell you that the election was held and it was free and fair.

“I thank party members for participating in the election and their dedication to democracy,” he said.


Connect With US