Principal Lauds ECOBA Lagos For Supporting The Institution’S Prize Giving Day

Edo College Old Boys Association, ECOBA Lagos branch has been commended
for its continued support of the school’s annual prize giving day.
The commendation was made by the Principal of Edo College, Mr. Raphael
Omoruyi during the 3rd Annual graduation and Award of Excellence
ceremony held in Benin City last week Thursday.
He said the support from parents, old boys and government departments
and agencies were key to achieving effectiveness in all school learning
programme, adding that education as a tool for National Development is
an expensive venture that prompted the Federal Government to recognize
and solicit participation of private initiatives as stated in the
National Policy of Education.
“The Scale of private intervention in public schools’ facilities and
manpower development is however of different dimensions, ranging from
community, non-government agencies (NGO), individuals, parents to old
boys and girls. Some of these involvements date back to the origin of
this institution,” he noted.
Cross section of graduating students at the 3rd annual
graduation and award of excellence ceremony of Edo College, Benin City.
The principal disclosed that a Toyota Hiace Bus, and two classroom
buildings and a hostel are currently in use courtesy of ECOBA, Lagos
branch and British Nigeria Education Trust Fund respectively.
“Gratitude goes to ECOBA Lagos branch for their continuous support for
this programme, and we also appreciate other donors. Heralding these
activities that culminated in the launch of the new college hall is the
personality of Dr. Reuben Osahon, the National President of Edo College
Old Boys Association. His resolve, determination and passion fostered
the concerned efforts of all old boys in the adoption and commencement
of various projects that would ultimately improve students’ welfare.”
The Senator David Dafinone award for excellence in Mathematics for
Senior Secondary School (SSS) for the 2017/2018 session was presented to
the overall best SS3 student in mathematics, Ikeguome Emmanuel. He also
got the prize for overall best in English Language donated by Sir Sunday
Airrue Uaboi.
The overall best in mathematics for SS2 award donated by Engr. Amen
Aguele went to Efosa Iloware Eghenayamose, and Osa-Afe Omoruyi got the
mathematics JSS2 overall best award donated by Engineer Godwin Ize-Iyamu
as well as the overall best in English Language donated by Mrs. Onokhawe
Other awardees are: Ogunbor Uyi Timothy who got the Economics and
Accounts Awards for SS3 donated by Senator David Dafinone foundation;
Egbon Eseosa Joshua (SS3), got the physics award donated by Mr. Edward.
E. Iyamu, Bello Ozivuyi, Fine Art (SS3) donated by Michael I.
Chairman of the occasion, Pastor Gabriel Oiboh, Principal of
Edo College, Mr. Raphael Omoruyi (right) and the Permanent Secretary,
Ministry of Education, Dr. (Mrs.) Ruth Obahiagbon (second right) at the
3rd annual graduation and award of excellence ceremony of Edo College,
Benin City.
Omo-Osagie, Oboh N.E. Quincy, Agric Science (SS3) award donated by
Osazenaya Osarenkhoe and Omoarebun O. Abraham, Biology (SS3) award
donated by Madam Ofure Akpata; Iyase Eghosa, Drama (SS2) donated by Avm
Joe Ehigie (Rtd); Aghayere Desmond, Biology SS3 award donated by Ms.
Hilda Gregory (Aka Edede Edo College); Odumor Mamuzo Favour, Geography
SS3 award donated by Omaha Endowment foundation; Mr. Aghedo, Geography
best teacher donated by Omaha Endowment Foundation; Edosomwan Israel,
JS2, best athlete, donated by B. Guobadia; Suleiman Braimoh (SS3) Best
Sports person; JS 1C, French best Class donated by Amb. Vincent Okobi
and Imafidon Stephen Osamagbe, best French student, donated by ECOBA
Lagos branch.
Amongst dignitaries that graced the ceremony were the National President
of ECOBA, Dr Reuben Osahon, the Edo State Commissioner for Education,
Hon. Barr Emmanuel Agbale, the permanent secretary in the ministry of
Education, Dr Mrs. Ruth Obahiagbon, Barr Jude Elumunor, a former legal
adviser ECOBA Lagos branch and Rt. Hon Pastor Gabriel Oiboh, Chairman
Post Primary Board who was the chairman of the occasion.


Connect With US


%d bloggers like this: