ELECTION Government Uncategorized

Meet The Governor Elect Of Zamfara State, Bello Matawalle

Results of the governorship election as declared by the returning officer for the state, Prof Kabiru Bala showed that Alhaji Mukhtar Shehu Idris of APC got 534,541 votes and Dr Bello Muhammad Mutawalle of the PDP polled 189,452 votes.

The candidate of the National Rescue Movement (NRM) Senator Dansadau scored 15,177 votes while Dr Abdullahi Shinkafi of APGA garnered 3,865 votes.

This will be the first time that PDP will be producing the governor of Zamfara State since 1999.

Meet Bello Mutawalle

Matawalle of was born in Maradun, the headquarters of Maradun Local Government Area of Zamfara State to the family of Alh. Muhammadu Sharu on the 12th of December 1969. Studied at Thames Valley University, London, Yaba College of Technology, Lagos, VTC Bunza in 1984 and Maradun Township Primary School in the year 1979.

He worked under ministry of Health Sokoto (in former Sokoto State) and worked as teacher in Government Girls College Moriki and Kwatarkoshi before joining Federal Ministry of Water Resources, Abuja until he decided to join politics in 1998 under defunct UNCP.

He is married to Hajiya Sadiya, Hajiya Fatimatu, Hajiya Balkisu and Hajiya Fadimatu and happily blessed with children.

Political Career

Bello Muhammad began his career in politics in 1998, having joined the United Nigeria Congress Party (UNCP), contested for National Assembly Membership and won the seat before they were dissolved.

May 1999 to May 2003, he served as Hon. Commissioner, Ministry for Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs, Hon. Commissioner Ministry for Environment, Ministry for Rural Development and then moved to Ministry for Youth and Sports under Zamfara State Government.

May 2003 – 2007, Bello Muhammad was elected as Member Representing Bakura/Maradun Federal Constituency under ANPP. In the House he served as chairman House Committee on Ethics and Privileges, the Position he held till 2007, Deputy Minority Whip and Ad- hoc Chairman House committee on Marine Security and Safety Commission (National Security Adviser’s office).

2007- 2011, Matawalle Maradun having been re-elected as Honorable Member Representing Bakura/Maradun Federal Constituency decided to decamp from ANPP to PDP which he did in the year 2009.

He emerged as the winner of the April 2011 general election to return for his third term as Member representing his people (Bakura Maradun) under Peoples Democratic Party (PDP)



Connect With US

%d bloggers like this: