Government National News Politics

Ex-Presidents Obasanjo, Goodluck Jonathan Absent At Buhari’s Inauguration

Former presidents, Dr. Olusegun Obasanjo and Dr. Goodluck Jonathan were absent at the second term inauguration of President Muhammadu Buhari and his deputy, Prof. Yemi Osinbajo, on Wednesday.

Obasanjo, who had been against Buhari’s re-election bid and Jonathan, a leader of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) ignored the event attended by the nation’s political and religious top shots.

Although, the Federal Government, through the Minister of Information and Culture, Alhaji Lai Mohammed, had earlier announced that the inauguration would be low key.

Mohammed had said that the major events that would have been part of the inauguration have been scheduled for June 12 which has now been declared Nigeria’s Democracy Day.

There have not been any reason for their absence, as at the time of filing this report.

However, President of the Senate, Dr. Bukola Saraki and the Speaker of the House of Representatives, Yakubu Dogara, also members of the PDP, graced the event.

READ ALSO: Saraki: Let Us Use Democracy to Entrench Peace, Development

E247mag had earlier reported that Buhari and Osinbajo were sworn-in at the Eagle Square, Abuja for a second term in office amid tight security.

Other notable figures at the swearing-in ceremony were: Outgoing cabinet members of the President; former Governor of Akwa Ibom State, Godswill Akpabio; Governor of Ekiti State, John Kayode Fayemi; former Head of State, General Yakubu Gowon; Service Chiefs, international guests, amongst others.


Connect With US


%d bloggers like this: