ELECTION News Politics

Elections: Tribunal Receives Four Petitions From Parties In Ondo

The Election Petitions Tribunal sitting in Ondo State on Tuesday said it had so far received four petitions from the parties that participated in the general elections in the state.

The three-man tribunal has Justice Nuhu Adi as chairman while Justices V.U. Okorie and K.M. Alabo are members.

The secretary of the tribunal, Mr Livinus Ugwu, who spoke with reporters, said the first petition received was from the candidate of the All Progressives Congress for the National Assembly election, Mr Donald Ojogo.

Ojogo is challenging the declaration of Mr Kolade Akinjo of the Peoples Democratic Party as the winner of the Ilaje/ Eseodo Federal Constituency election on February 23.

Counsel for the petitioner, Mr Isaacs Kekemeke, said the declaration of Akinjo by the Independent National Electoral Commission as the winner of the election, violated the Electoral Act.

He asked the court to declare the election inconclusive and order a supplementary poll.

In another petition, the candidate of the APC for the National Assembly election in Okitipupa/Irele Federal Constituency, Mr Albert Akintoye, challenged the declaration of Mr Ikengbolu Gboluga of the PDP as the winner of the election on the grounds that the election was manipulated by INEC in favour of his opponent.

Lawyer for the petitioner, Mr Yinka Orokoto, prayed the court to set aside the certificate of return issued by INEC to the PDP candidate and declare Akintoye as the winner of the election.

The third petition was filed by the candidate of the PDP for the National Assembly election in Ileoluji/Okeigbo/Odigbo Federal Constituency, Mr Abayomi Akinfemiwa, challenging the declaration of Mr Mayowa Akinfolarin of the APC as the winner of the election by INEC.

His lawyer, Mr Olumide Ogunja, claimed the election in some of the wards such as Odigbo, Ore, Oniparaga and Koseru were marred by irregularities.


Connect With US


%d bloggers like this: