The main opposition party, the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and at least 30 other political parties in the opposition have announced the signing of a MoU and formation of an alliance with a new name – Coalition of United Political Parties (CUPP).


The announcement was made at the Musa Yar’Adua Centre in Abuja where leaders of the party met Monday.

The aim of the coalition is to work towards defeating President Muhammadu Buhari and his All Progressives Congress, APC, in next year’s general election.

ALSO READ:   Breaking: Trump Sacks Nigeria's Adebayo Ogunlesi as Adviser

In the coalition is the breakaway faction of the ruling party, which calls itself the Reformed All Progressives Congress, R-APC.

The main parties in the coalition are Labour Party, Social Democratic Party of Nigeria (SDP), and National Conscience Party (NCP). Others are mostly newly registered ones.


Copyright 2018 E247Magazine. Permission to use quotations from this article is granted subject to appropriate credit being given to as the source.