News Politics

APC Maintains Majority After Defection Of 14 senators, 37 Reps

Fourteen senators defected yesterday from the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) to the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and the African Democratic Congress (ADC), reports THENATION.

But the APC keeps its majority with 52 senators. The PDP has 50. There are 109 senators. Two are dead and one, Joshua Dariye is in jail for corruption.

The African Democratic Congress (ADC) has three, All Progressive Grand Alliance (APGA) has two seats.

In the House of Representatives, 37 members quit the ruling party. There are now 192 APC members. The PDP has 156 members and APGA five. The APC keeps its majority.

Irreconcilable political differences between the senators and their governors may have pushed the lawmakers to take the action.

But the APC said it was all a storm in a tea cup. National Chairman Adams Oshiomhole said the defection would not affect the party’s fortune in next year’s election.

President Muhammadu Buhari described it as “seasonal”.

Senate President Bukola Saraki, who was said to have sneaked into the National Assembly complex early yesterday, announced the defection of the senators.


Connect With US


%d bloggers like this: