News Politics

2019 Elections, Worst In Nigeria’s History – ADC

2019 Elections, Worst In Nigeria’s History - ADC
Some underaged voters spotted in Jos

The National Working Committee of the African Democratic Congress has set up a Healing, Harmonisation and Ethics Committee to review the 2019 general elections.

The Committee was set up at a meeting of the NWC on Monday, where the party resolved to do a comprehensive documentation of the infringement on human rights, institutional abuses, bodily harm and destruction, which affected its members.

A statement issued by the National Publicity Secretary of the party, Mrs. Yemi Kolapo, said the meeting was also held to review what the party described as the various untoward activities of the Independent National Electoral Commission, the Police and other security agencies, which gave birth to the worst election in the history of Nigeria’s democracy.

READ ALSO: Lagos Government Warns Landlords And Developers

The communique issued at the end of the meeting reads in part:

“The National Working Committee met to review the general elections and the various untowards activities of INEC, Police, and the security agencies. We resolved to do a comprehensive documentation of the infringement on human rights and institutional abuses, murder, bodily harm and destruction that affected our members, supporters and their various constituents and constituencies.

“The reports, when ready within one month, will be widely publicised and presented to relevant bodies, including the United Nations and the International court at Hague.”

The party added, “We have also set up the Healing, Harmonisation and Ethics committee, to deal with all issues involving party members and organisational health. For the Lagos zone, Alhaji Said Baba Abdullahi will serve as Chairman, while members include Mrs. Yemi Kolapo, Senator Olufemi Lanlehin, Senator Bariga Amange, Prince Gboyega Nasir Isiaka, Hon. Olaifa Jimoh, Mrs. Saidat Odofin, Hon. Omo Sagie Efosa, Prof. Adesegun Ojo.

Others are: Engr. Chijioke Ozoene, Hon. Makinde and Dr. Dele Ajadi.

“The Abuja zone has Barrister Peter Oyewole as Chairman, while members are: Senator Abdulaziz Nyako, Hon Leke Bejide, Chief Anayo Arinze, Senator Patricia Akwashiki, Amb. Esther Audu, Barr. Justina Abanida, Alhaji Galma Sokoto, Dr. Peter Edeh, and Hon. Karmardeen Olayinka.”

The ADC NWC acknowledged the challenges in building a model and disciplined political party under the current culture of impunity and electoral corruption but noted that the party was determined to continue the exemplary work it set out to do.

READ ALSO: One Dead, Scores Injured As PHCN Officials, Police, Battle Touts Over Blackout In Ijesha (photos)

ADC urged Nigerians to say no to the current culture of impunity by leaders selling a fake sense of integrity, saying no President must be sworn in based on the sad records of open malpractices in the last elections.

“If we stand together as one, and shun politicians who are bent on creating an electoral environment where votes would never count, we will get our democracy and sanity back in good time and also send selfish leaders packing,” the party said.



Connect With US


%d bloggers like this: