Music News ShowBiz

2017 AFRIMA Awards: Davido, Wizkid Battle For Best Male African Art

It seems that the supremacy fight between Davido and Wizkid might not be over yet as AFIRMA releases list ahead of the November award. As Davido and Wizkid are squared on all nomination.

This they will do alongside Falz – Nigeria; Serge Beynaud – Ivory Coast; Mr. Eazi – Nigeria; Toofan – Togo; Moh Dediouf – Senegal; Stonebwoy – Ghana; Tekno – Nigeria and Kedejevara DJ – Ivory Coast.

Announcing the nominees, Mr. Chris Cyren, the juror from Southern Africa said 4,816 entries from African music professionals and music artistes were received at the close of a two-month entry submission window on July 17, this year.

He described the nominations process as rigorous and thorough, as he emphasized on the Jury’s resolve to be fair and transparent in line with the AFRIMA values of FACEIT (fairness, authenticity, creativity, excellence, integrity, transparency).

The nominees were picked based on production quality, talent and creativity, melody, originality and authenticity, composition and arrangement as against the number of views from any online video platform.

Artist of The Year

Flavour – Nigeria

Diamond Platnumz – Tanzania
Fally Ipupa – Congo
Wizkid – Nigeria
Cassper Nyovest – South Africa
Davido – Nigeria
Eddy Kenzo – Uganda
Tekno – Nigeria
Mr Eazi – Nigeria
C4 Pedro – Angola

Video of The Year
Toofan – Terre (Togo)
Davido – If (Nigeria)
Wizkid – Come Closer (Nigeria)
Runtown – Mad Over You (Nigeria)
Casper Nyovest – Tito Mboweni (South Africa)
Emtee ft Nasty C – Winning (South Africa)
Diamond Platnumz ft Ray Vanny – Salome (Tanzania)
Victoria Kimani ft Donald – Fade Away(Kenya/South Africa)
Fally Ipupa – Eloko Iyo (Congo)
C4 Pedro ft Sautisol – Love Again (Angola/Kenya)
Wande Coal ft DJ Tunez – Iskaaba (Nigeria)

Song of The Year
Runtown – Mad Over You (Nigeria)
Davido – If (Nigeria )
Diamond Platnumz ft Rayvanny – Salome (Tanzania)
Babe Wodumo ft Mampintsha – Wololo (South Africa )
Wizkid – Come Closer (Nigeria)
Cassper Nyovest – Tito Mboweni (South Africa)
Fally Ipupa – Eloko Iyo (Congo)
Toofan – Terre (Togo)
Darasa ft Ben Pol – Muziki (Tanzania)
MHD – Bravo (Guinea Conakry

Best Collaboration
Wizkid ft Chris Brown – African Bad Girl (Nigeria/USA)
Diamond Platnumz ft Ne-Yo – Marry You (Tanzania/USA
Babe Wodumo ft Mampinsta – Wololo (South Africa)
Ycee ft Maleek Berry – Juice (Nigeria)
Runtown ft Sarkodie – Painkiller (Nigeria/Ghana
Davido ft Nasty C – Coolest Kid in Africa (Nigeria/South Africa)
Edy Kenzo ft Alaine – Addicted (Uganda/Jamaica)
C4 Pedro ft Sautisol – Love again (Angola/Kenya)
Darasa ft Ben Pol – Muziki (Tanzania)
Fally Ipupa ft Booba – Kinane (Congo)

Perhaps its time to call the truce and finally bury the hatchet or it could also resurrect and escalate the fight who knows?  Lets keep our fingers, we could only expect the best from the two talented Nigerian artiste.


Connect With US